License Suspensions in Hudson Valley
Poughkeepsie DWI Defense Attorneys
DWI convictions can subject drivers to a number of serious penalties, including
large fines and terms of imprisonment. For many, license suspensions or
revocations are also a consequence that create a number of burdens, especially
if one depends on their ability to drive in order to travel to and from
work. At Michael R. Varble & Associates, P.C., our legal teams works
tirelessly to protect our clients from license suspensions.
License suspensions or revocations will vary from case to case and will
depend on a number of unique circumstances, including an offender's
age, blood alcohol content (BAC), and prior criminal history. A DWI lawyer
from our Poughkeepsie firm can explain more about the license penalties
you may be facing during a
License Revocation for DWI in New York
License penalties for drivers over the age of 21 charged with DWI, driving
while impaired by Drugs (DWAI-Drug), or driving while impaired by alcohol
and drugs (DWAI-Combination):
1st Offense – 6 month minimum revocation
2nd Offense – 1 year minimum revocation
3rd Offense or More – 1 year minimum revocation
License penalties for drivers over the age of 21 charged with aggravated
DWI (BAC over .18) include:
1st Offense – 1 year minimum revocation
2nd Offense – 18 month minimum revocation
3rd Offense or More – 18 month minimum revocation
The state of New York also enforces a
Zero Tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21 convicted of DWI. This means that underage
drivers will face longer license suspensions for DWI offenses. Drivers
who refuse to take a chemical test may also have their license automatically
suspended and revoked for at least one year.
Protect Your License – Contact Us Today!
Just because you have been charged for DWI does not mean that you will
automatically be found guilty or that your license will be suspended or
revoked. You have the right to defend yourself during a Department of
Motor Vehicles (DMV), and our firm is prepared to provide the representation you need.
To learn more about protecting your license after being charged for DWI,
contact us at 888-900-6204 for a free consultation as soon as possible.